Structure of Globelics

Globelics is an informal network. Most activities are initiated and organized at a local level.

The Globelics Constitution was decided by a unanimous Globelics Scientific Board the 15th October 2016 in Bandung, Indonesia . The aim is to give scholars who are active in the network the opportunity to become Members of Globelics and through voting procedure to influence the composition of the Globelics Scientific Board.

Read the Globelics Constitution

One implication is that Globelics will establish a formal Membership in the beginning of 2017. Members who subscribe to the preamble in the constitution and who have taken active part in Globelics conferences will be offered to apply for membership. Members can be nominated as candidates to become members of the next Globelics Scientific Board and they can themselves nominate candidates and finally they can give their votes in the election.

More information on how to become a Member of Globelics will soon follow!

At the end of 2016 the function of the Globelics Secretariat has moved from Aalborg, Denmark to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and José Cassiolato has taken over the role as Secretary General.

The Globelics Scientific Board

gives advice on local activities, outlines general principles and initiates new activities.

The Globelics Secretariat

serves as secretariat for the Scientific Board, gives advice on local activities and is responsible for activities supported by Sida, Sweden, including travel grants.


are the regional chapters of Globelics. They organize their own events, host regional research projects and engage in interaction with regional users of research.

Globelics organises the Globelics Conference and the Globelics Academy for Ph.D.-students. The conference location changes every year while the academy location shifts between the North and the South. Normally the local hosts are responsible for fund-raising. There may be exceptions when, for example, an activity is located in a low-income country. Local organisers are also responsible for the design of the activity based on the general principles laid out by the Scientific Board.


If you have any questions about Globelics, please send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?